List Of Polytechnics In Ekiti State

Ekiti State, nestled in the southwestern region of Nigeria, boasts a vibrant educational landscape, particularly in the field of polytechnics and colleges. These institutions play a pivotal role in shaping the skills and knowledge of individuals, preparing them for various technical and technological careers. Let’s take a closer look at some prominent educational institutions in Ekiti State.

Federal Polytechnic Ado Ekiti:

Established in 1979, Federal Polytechnic Ado Ekiti stands as a key player in technical education. This federal government-owned institution, located in the state capital, Ado Ekiti, offers National Diploma (ND) and Higher National Diploma (HND) programs in diverse fields such as engineering, technology, and business. With a student population exceeding 15,000, the polytechnic is renowned for its strong academic standing and hands-on training approach.

Crown Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti:

Founded in 1985, Crown Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti is a private institution that prioritizes industry-relevant education. The polytechnic, situated in Ado Ekiti, provides ND and HND programs in areas like engineering, technology, business administration, and computer science. Notably, Crown Polytechnic places emphasis on developing entrepreneurial skills, enhancing the employability of its graduates.

Ekiti State Polytechnic, Isan-Ekiti:

Established in 1993, Ekiti State Polytechnic, Isan-Ekiti, is a state-owned institution committed to community engagement and sustainable development practices. The polytechnic offers ND and HND programs in various fields, including engineering, technology, agriculture, and applied sciences. Its focus on community impact sets it apart in the educational landscape.

Afe Babalola University Ado Ekiti (ABUAD):

Founded in 2010, Afe Babalola University Ado Ekiti (ABUAD) is a private university dedicated to innovation and research. Offering undergraduate and postgraduate programs in disciplines like engineering, law, medicine, and business administration, ABUAD stands out for its commitment to fostering a culture of creativity and academic excellence.

READ This:  Federal Universities That Accept 180 For Medicine And Surgery

Emmanuel Alayande College of Education (EACOED):

Established in 1987, Emmanuel Alayande College of Education (EACOED) is a state-owned institution situated in Ijero-Ekiti. Specializing in the Nigerian Certificate in Education (NCE) program, EACOED focuses on various teaching subjects, contributing significantly to the training of educators in the region.


Ekiti State’s educational institutions, ranging from polytechnics to colleges and universities, offer a diverse array of programs. Whether it’s practical training at Federal Polytechnic Ado Ekiti, entrepreneurial skills at Crown Polytechnic, community engagement at Ekiti State Polytechnic, innovation at ABUAD, or teacher education at EACOED, each institution plays a vital role in shaping the future of students and contributing to the growth of the state.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button